The history of Casa Moretta

Few perhaps know "Casa Moretta", the penultimate stage of the Wandering Oratory. It is located on the right side of Piazza Maria Ausiliatrice (Turin) in front of the Basilica of Maria Ausiliatrice, and is today known as the "Parish Church of Valdocco".

Brief history of Casa Moretta

1845: Fr Moretta rents three rooms of his home to Don Bosco
1848: Fr Bosco buys the entire house (18 rooms) with the surrounding land, to transform it into a boarding house, but soon renounces because of the bad condition of the building and sells the house in the spring of 1849.
1875: Don Bosco buys back "Casa Moretta" and the land and sets up the first female oratory.

Source: AustraLasia 


ANS - “Agenzia iNfo Salesiana” is a on-line almost daily publication, the communication agency of the Salesian Congregation enrolled in the Press Register of the Tibunal of Rome as n 153/2007.

This site also uses third-party cookies to improve user experience and for statistical purposes. By scrolling through this page or by clicking on any of its elements, you consent to the use of cookies. To learn more or to opt out, click "Further Information".