Print this page

The structure of the Encyclical "Fratelli Tutti"

Foto: © Servizio Fotografico Vatican Media

"Fratelli Tutti" is the third encyclical of Pope Francis, after "Lumen Fidei" (2013) and "Laudato sì" (2015). It was signed in Assisi on 3 October 2020.
The title derives from an expression of St. Francis (Admonitions 6, 1), which the Saint used to invite men and women to live a life inspired by the Gospel.

The encyclical is divided into eight chapters:

Chapter I – Dark Clouds over a Closed World
Chapter II - A Stranger on the Road
Chapter III - Envisaging and Generating an Open World
Chapter IV - A Heart Open to the Whole World
Chapter V – A Better Kind of Politics
Chapter VI - Dialogue and Friendship in Society
Chapter VII - Paths of Renewed Encounter
Chapter VIII - Religions at the Service of Fraternity in Our World

What is it based on?

Fratelli Tutti joins fraternity and social friendship. This is the core of the text and its meaning. These themes are already found in the “Document on Human Fraternity for World Peace and Living Together”, signed on 4 February 2019, in Abu Dhabi, by Pope Francis and the Grand Imam Aḥmad al-Tayyeb.

Related items

This site also uses third-party cookies to improve user experience and for statistical purposes. By scrolling through this page or by clicking on any of its elements, you consent to the use of cookies. To learn more or to opt out, click "Further Information".