Mediterranean Region: a portrait in numbers

Foto: Oratori Don Bosko - Shkodër

The Mediterranean Region was created in 2015. It includes 10 Provinces: Special Circumscription of Central Italy, Special Circumscription of Italy Piedmont-Valle D'Aosta, Lombardy-Emilian Italy, Southern Italy, Northeast Italy, Italy Sicily, Middle East, Spain and Portugal.

It covers seven nations: Italy, Spain, Portugal, Israel, Palestine, Syria, Lebanon and Egypt. Other countries are also part of it (Switzerland, Lithuania, Albania, Kosovo, Moldova, Romania, Tunisia and Cape Verde). In total there are 343 Salesian presences.

There are 2,829 Salesians in the Region.

Compared to 2014, there was a decrease of 384 Salesians.
The average age of Salesians in the Mediterranean Region is 66 years.

Source: Salesian Bulletin 


ANS - “Agenzia iNfo Salesiana” is a on-line almost daily publication, the communication agency of the Salesian Congregation enrolled in the Press Register of the Tibunal of Rome as n 153/2007.

This site also uses third-party cookies to improve user experience and for statistical purposes. By scrolling through this page or by clicking on any of its elements, you consent to the use of cookies. To learn more or to opt out, click "Further Information".