The Basilica of Mary Help of Christians of Turin-Valdocco: historical notes

The first stone was laid on 27 April 1865, in the presence of Prince Amedeo di Savoia;
On September 23, 1866 the great dome was finished;
In 1867 the statue of the Madonna was placed at the end of the dome;

The consecration took place on June 9, 1868;
The Church was enlarged between 1935 and 1942 to coincide with the canonization of Don Bosco, whose remains are now housed in a chapel completed in 1938;
It was elevated to the dignity of "minor basilica" on June 28, 1911.


ANS - “Agenzia iNfo Salesiana” is a on-line almost daily publication, the communication agency of the Salesian Congregation enrolled in the Press Register of the Tibunal of Rome as n 153/2007.

This site also uses third-party cookies to improve user experience and for statistical purposes. By scrolling through this page or by clicking on any of its elements, you consent to the use of cookies. To learn more or to opt out, click "Further Information".