Salesian presence in the Amazon

- In the Amazon Region there are a total of 47 Salesian communities: 22 in urban areas and 25 in rural areas.
- There are 245 Salesians currently present in the Amazon: 107 in rural areas and 138 in urban areas.
- There are 15 Salesians from 8 different indigenous Amazonian ethnic groups (Tuyuka, Desano, Traiano, Arapaso, Toucan, Baniwa, Bororo, Xavante).
- The Congregation is at the service of 61 indigenous Amazonian ethnic groups.

Salesian presence divided into provinces:

BMA: 14 communities, 65 sdb
BCG: 17 communities, 108 sdb
ECU: 7 communities, 27 sdb
VEN: 5 communities, 19 sdb
PER: 3 communities, 20 sdb
PAR: 2 communities, 7 sdb


ANS - “Agenzia iNfo Salesiana” is a on-line almost daily publication, the communication agency of the Salesian Congregation enrolled in the Press Register of the Tibunal of Rome as n 153/2007.

This site also uses third-party cookies to improve user experience and for statistical purposes. By scrolling through this page or by clicking on any of its elements, you consent to the use of cookies. To learn more or to opt out, click "Further Information".