The Church of Don Bosco in Rome: historical notes

Foto: dalla pagina Facebook "Parrocchia di San Giovanni Bosco - Roma"

On 8 December, the church of Don Bosco in Rome celebrated the 60th anniversary of the dedication of the temple.
The church was built by the famous Sicilian architect Gaetano Rapisardi, who won the competition organized by the Pontifical Commission for Sacred Art on behalf of the Salesians.
On 12 September 1952 the first stone of the new building was laid by the Cardinal Vicar Clemente Micara.

It was inaugurated in 1959, but only in 1964 was the building completed according to the original plans.
On November 20, 1965, Pope Paul VI raised it to the dignity of a minor basilica with the apostolic letter Adulescentium patris.
Its dome, in diameter, is the third largest among the churches of Rome, after the dome of the Pantheon and that of the Basilica of St Peter.



ANS - “Agenzia iNfo Salesiana” is a on-line almost daily publication, the communication agency of the Salesian Congregation enrolled in the Press Register of the Tibunal of Rome as n 153/2007.

This site also uses third-party cookies to improve user experience and for statistical purposes. By scrolling through this page or by clicking on any of its elements, you consent to the use of cookies. To learn more or to opt out, click "Further Information".