Chronology of the Rectors Major

The 28th General Chapter of the Salesian Congregation renewed the mandate of Rector Major to Fr Ángel Fernández Artime for the 2020-2026 term.

Who was Rector Major before him?

Fr Michele Rua was Don Bosco's first successor and was Rector Major from 1888 to 1910.

After him:

Fr Paolo Albera (1910-1921)
Fr Filippo Rinaldi (1922-1931)
Fr Pietro Ricaldone (1932-1951)
Fr Renato Ziggiotti (1952-1965)
Fr Luigi Ricceri (1965-1977)
Fr Egidio Viganò (1977-1995)
Fr Juan E. Vecchi (1996-2002)
Fr Pascual Chávez Villanueva (2002-2014).


ANS - “Agenzia iNfo Salesiana” is a on-line almost daily publication, the communication agency of the Salesian Congregation enrolled in the Press Register of the Tibunal of Rome as n 153/2007.

This site also uses third-party cookies to improve user experience and for statistical purposes. By scrolling through this page or by clicking on any of its elements, you consent to the use of cookies. To learn more or to opt out, click "Further Information".