RMG – Three new Provinces at the service of Africa

17 March 2021
Photo (Archive): Kenya, 12 February 2018 - Team Visit to the Africa-Madagascar Region

(ANS – Rome) – In a continent in continuous growth and social ferment, the Salesian presence too is changing and growing.

On 19 January 2021, the Rector Major, Fr Ángel Fernández Artime, with the favourable opinion of the General Council, in accordance with article 132, paragraph 1.1 and 156 of the Constitutions, erected the “Blessed Artemides Zatti Province of Africa Nigeria and Niger with its headquarters in Lagos-Iju (Nigeria). 9 Houses make up this Province.

On the same date the new Province of “Our Lady of Peace” in North West Africa was erected with its headquarters in Cotonou-Zogbo in Benin. 18 Houses make up this Province, to be found in Benin, Burkina Faso, Mali, Guinea Conakry, Gambia, as well as in Senegal. These last three nations will form a Delegation based in Dakar (Senegal). The new “Our Lady of Peace” Province will eventually develop its mission also in Guinea Bissau.

And again, on 19 January the “St Joseph” Province of South West Africa was erected with its headquarters in Ashaiman (Ghana). It will include the works of Togo, Ghana, the Ivory Coast, Liberia and Sierra Leone, 20 Houses.


ANS - “Agenzia iNfo Salesiana” is a on-line almost daily publication, the communication agency of the Salesian Congregation enrolled in the Press Register of the Tibunal of Rome as n 153/2007.

This site also uses third-party cookies to improve user experience and for statistical purposes. By scrolling through this page or by clicking on any of its elements, you consent to the use of cookies. To learn more or to opt out, click "Further Information".